Minutes of the Waikato Veteran Golf Assn 49th AGM

held at Riverside Narrows on Monday the 14th August 2017 @ 9.45am

The Vice president welcomed all those attending and opened the meeting

Present

Bruce Fennell (Chair), Alan Bates, Don Campbell, Bernie Ellmers, Graeme Hill (Secretary), Lawrence Mc Donnell, Colin Vincent, John Hayward, and 61 Members representing a wide range of clubs.

Acting president Bruce Invited David Williams to make special mention that Paul Keeley was in attendance and gave a small resume of Paul's contribution to our association and NZ Vet Golf, this was received with acclimation.

Apologies

Ray Lye - Peter Ballinger – Ray Vincent – Don Farquhar – Eric Hillerton – K & G Taylor – Gerald Harris – Arthur Reece - Murray Newby – Phil Smith – George King – Jack Wilson -

Moved apologise be accepted Malcolm White Seconded by Colin Vincent - Carried

Remembrance: The Acting President requested that those present be upstanding as a mark of respect for those veteran golfers and spouses that had passed away during the year.

Confirmation of Minutes: - The minutes which are on the tables were presented and asked to be taken as a true and correct record

Hauraki

Moved: Alan Bates Seconded Don Campbell - Carried

Matters arising – only that minutes carried the wrong number of AGM's should have been the 48th, to be corrected.

Audited Annual Accounts: - The Secretary/ Treasurer presented the audited annual accounts and operating expenses.

Moved they be accepted by Graeme Hill seconded by John Hayward - Carried

No questions were raised or explanations were required

President Report:

Acting President Bruce read Ray's report in his absence.

The adoption of this report was moved by Dave Williams and Seconded by Graeme Hill - Carried

John Hayward

Election of Officers: -

Patron:

Ray Lye	Raglan
Bruce Fennell	Tahuna
Colin Vincent	Riverside
Lawrence Mc Donnell	Cambridge
Peter Mirams	
Graeme Hill	Te Aroha
Bernie Ellmers	Whangamata
Alan Bates	Matamata
Ross Brydon	Hauraki
David Gear	Waihi
Richard Baker	Paeroa
	Bruce Fennell Colin Vincent Lawrence Mc Donnell Peter Mirams Graeme Hill Bernie Ellmers Alan Bates Ross Brydon David Gear

Secretary Graeme Hill confirmed all nominations had duly been signed and conformed to the constitution as all positions were filled Acting president Bruce duly informed the meeting they would be considered elected.

Appointment of NZSGA Delegate: As this is an Executive decision the executive would make the appointment at the first meeting

No Remits were received so the President opened the meeting for General business

Brian White

1. The draw for the 2018 Christmas tournament was made and Waikere was the recipient with Huntly being drawn as the next in line should Waikere be unable to host the event.

Waikere

- 2. The meeting was advised the association had received a letter from Waikato Golf inviting our association to appoint a representative to be on the Men's Committee of Waikato Golf, this will be discussed at the first executive meeting.
- 3. Dave Breckon asked the association to consider lifting the handicap index for players at one day events, Leigh Basson suggested clubs consider having a division just for Older Players—both to be discussed by the executive.

- 4. David Gear asked for future AGM's to be held earlier to enable those travelling to be able to play golf and get home at a reasonable hour.
- 5. The issue of private competitions like Covet Shield and Pellows Pennants was raised and in general conveners of these clubs to be careful when allocating playing days so they do not clash with our association's events.

There being no further business President Bruce congratulated all clubs on the presentation of their course for events during the year and thanked Riverside for hosting the meeting.

Meeting closed 10.15am

Signed	
Date	